California’s basic speeding laws can be a bit challenging to understand. While in states like Virginia and Illinois there are direct speed limits, California has different precepts altogether.
California has three types of speed laws. These are:
- Basic speeding laws
- Absolute speed limits
- Presumed speed limits
Here, we will look at the basic speeding laws and what they entail, in detail.
The basic speeding laws are more about the use of common sense on the road, in obedience to the speeding limits. Even if the speed limit is 65mph and there is an accident ahead, or the there is a traffic buildup of some sort, it would not be very sensible to drive at the maximum speed limit.
You are also supposed to gauge the best driving speed depending on the circumstances. For example, you cannot drive at the maximum speed limit if the road is slippery. You cannot drive at high speed if the visibility is poor.
When you are driving, you must have regard for the prevailing weather, the size/width of the road and the traffic. You must consider the visibility and basically, drive at a safe speed that will not endanger the other road users. You should also drive at a speed that does not endanger property.
As a driver, you should choose the speed to drive at depending on the circumstances. This does not mean that you should drive above the speed limit even on a bright and sunny day. But you can drive under the limit if the circumstances are not very good. Thus, you can do lower speeds on a 60 mph road if it is slippery and if the visibility is not so good. You may also drive at a lower speed at night.
As a California driver, it is your duty to decide what a safe speed is given the circumstances. This is a good thing too because most of the California roads are known for traffic, bad roads and sometimes, extreme weather. This means that most of the time, you will not be driving at the set speed limits.
Basic speed law violation and fines
When the conditions of the road and other circumstances are good, you can drive at the maximum speed limit. You may, or may not get a citation and a ticket for driving at 5 mph above the speed limit. The maximum speed limit in California is 70 miles per hour on the freeways. Should you drive even one mile above that limit, you are considered to be violating the speed limit.
- If you drive at 100 mph and below, you will get a speeding ticket, the fine of which depends on the number of miles above the speed limit. This is $100 for exceeding the speed limit by 26 mph or more, but not above 100 mph. If you exceed the speed limit by 16 to 25 mph, you will pay a fine of $70. You will pay $35 for exceeding the speed limit by 1 to 15 miles. Remember, you are driving under 100 mph.
- If you are caught driving at more than 100 mph for the first time, you get heavier penalties and punishment. You can be fined the $500 maximum fine and have your license suspended for 30 days.
- If this is the second offense driving at over 100 mph, you could be fined the maximum fine of $750 and have your license suspended for 6 months.
- If this is your third offense in five years driving over 100 mph, you will face a $1000 fine and a license suspension of 12 months.
The basic speed law to remember is: Drive as fast as is safe but under the speed limit. Also, stay posted on the latest fines because all states have been tightening driving laws lately. If you ever face any charges for speeding, find the best speeding ticket lawyer around you to represent you. If you are from Los Angeles, check out Los Angeles traffic lawyer for the best solution to your problem. Knowing the basic speeding laws and following them are always the best option for you.